Bo and Christa

Good things come to those who wait…for the sale

In Uncategorized on April 22, 2010 at 8:43 pm

I admit, I have trouble paying full price for anything. My mom told me growing up to never buy things that weren’t on sale. Like many know-it-all adolescents, I brushed her advice aside and probably ignored it for a number of years. However, 6 years as a student kind of wears on your spending habits, and I’ve recently realized my mother is always right. For example, we didn’t pay retail for my wedding dress, engagement ring, flower girl dress, bridesmaids dresses and the list goes on. That doesn’t mean we didn’t get them brand new; I just found ways to save a few bucks here and there.

I searched for the best photographer for the money, shopped around for best decor prices–something we probably all try to do before making big purchases. It’s the practical thing to do, and I like to consider myself an exceptionally practical bride.

Well, I’ve struck again and let me just say, I’m glad I waited!

Long story short, I fell in love with some jewelry (in Etsy shop #1) with an unpractical price tag–a particular pair of earrings to be exact. So, I looked though the jewelry sections of every store I went to and shopped online bridal galleries for hours to find something that struck my fancy just as much. Sigh. No cigar.

But I did find (almost) the exact  same earrings at another shop while browsing Etsy (shop #2) one day and they were almost 20% cheaper…score!

Source

Giving a courtesy nod to the original seller’s shop where I had fallen in love, I asked if the seller (shop #1) would price match their competitor (shop #2) with the same design. I don’t know if I’ve ever asked anyone to do that, but apparently it doesn’t always work. I got shut down!

Source

The worst they could say was no and they courteously did. No problem.

I would have just gone with the less expensive seller (#2), but I waited…And the story took a turn for the worse. Shop #2 shut down her store!


Source

Crap. Was I going to be faced with spending more money to get what I wanted? I decided to avoid thinking about, for surely this problem would resolve itself. 😉

I instead moved to scoping out bracelets. For this, the criteria was simple: Multiple strand cream pearls with a large brooch. No big deal. I even thought about having my mom just make one for me, but I had a bit of trouble finding an appropriate brooch for DIY.

So, browsing Etsy again, I found this bracelet in shop #3:

Source

…which was an exact replicate of a bracelet that was also at shop #1, except this one was 30% cheaper. I decided not to wait another moment to purchase. But wait! My natural wedding detective  instincts kicked in.

Source

If shop #3 had access to the same hardware as shop #1, maybe shop #3 would also have the earring centerpieces I had fallen for. So I asked. And this time, I did not get shut down. 🙂 Shop #3 would not only make the earrings AND the bracelet, she would make them at more than a 40% total cost savings compared to the original shop. Who can say no to that?
I’m in, and both pieces should be on my doorstep before I know it! Super excited!

Where did you find your favorite deal?

  1. […] shoes, so I went ahead and ordered some brown satin shoes on clearance (there I go again with my sales). Why brown? It is functional. I can wear them again and again. White satin? I don’t know if […]

Leave a Reply

