Bo and Christa

Double the wedding, double the fun!!

In Uncategorized on April 14, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Anyone remember the Doublemint twins? 🙂 I wasn’t prepared to answer jokes about a “double your pleasure” title.

Well, when I say wedding, in this case, I mean ceremony.

Due to many unforeseen obstacles with time, desired location, silliness, etc. we are having two wedding ceremonies to appease the greater audience. I definitely embraced the chaos of two weddings after reading about Miss Jellyfish’s getting married before the wedding on WeddingBee, but at first I wasn’t so sure.

FH was all about getting married before the big party in August, but I was not so much about it, basically because we wouldn’t have been able to manage any kind of mini-honeymoon and our family probably wouldn’t have been able to come. But I still had to solve the other aforementioned issues that had bubbled up in scheduling.

So…two weddings in ONE day! Am I crazy? I don’t think so (anymore). It allows a bit more room for creativity and everyone is happy.

Here’s how it’ll go down:

12:30 ish: Traditional, abbreviated Catholic ceremony at my hometown church. Most people in attendance will be immediate family and those involved in the wedding (wedding party, etc). The pro: Just like old times (I think), the bride and groom will not see one another before the wedding.  🙂

1:15: Commence elaborate wedding photography for about 3-3.5 hours.

5:30 or so: Outdoor ceremony of about 300something friends and family on this 92-foot pier:

Source

If you look super close, you can see the reception venue on the left shoreline.
Ok, I’ll just show you:

See the little green circle? That’s where we’re going when we hop on our getaway boat and ride off to the reception venue. By the time everyone else drives over, we’ll have had time for a nice little joyride around the river before docking at the resort.

It’s a marvelous plan, in my opinion, and now the guests don’t have a big gap between ceremony and reception.

Did you have any scheduling crises before the big day?

  1. […] church wedding, which will be switched to a hair flower for the outdoor ceremony…I’m a double-wedding bride. I can do whatever I want. […]

  2. […] earth shattering change for most of the guests, but it was for us. Remember how we were going to do two weddings the same day?  Well, apparently that would be stressful. Huh, […]

Leave a Reply

