Bo and Christa

Local harvest

In Uncategorized on April 3, 2010 at 12:44 pm

With a nutrition background, I thought it would be appropriate for me to come up with nutrition labels to go with the menus for each table.

Source

Time went by and I got lots of booing from people I would tell this idea to; they said I was taking all the fun out of it and that no one cares how many calories they are eating at a wedding. Sure, sure. I saw it as informative, but I get the point.

I decided it would be more important to implore my reception venue for local food procurement. To my surprise, the venue coordinator said they occasionally get produce from a neighboring Hutterite colony (there are a lot of these near my hometown in South Dakota). I bloomed with excitement at this answer, because there is nothing like a fresh garden tomato!

Source

One of my bridesmaids’ family and FH’s family both have cattle that could probably be used if the venue would allow it, but I’m introducing the questions to the coordinator slowly. I didn’t want to get shut down all at once, just in case.

I can’t wait to figure out all the details, so I can share the menu!

Was there anything you could do in event planning to support your local community or agriculture?

Leave a Reply

