Bo and Christa

Outfitting the girls, pt I

In Uncategorized on March 30, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Man, I need to kick it in gear. After a little lull in wedding planning, I am working hard to get the wedding party outfitted in the next week.

I did a little usher shopping before the weekend, and I hope to have a groom/groomsmen update soon. Today, I started to attack the bridesmaid gown task.

Because my stint in St. Louis is temporary and none of the BMs live anywhere near here, I don’t feel particularly obliged to patronize a particular local bridal store, except I will give kudos to the one down the street that introduced me to my own gown.
I checked some stores in my home state, but the ones with the best deals would also require a considerable jaunt from the ‘maids. So, I stumbled across this site that would be about $50 less than retail. I love me a good deal, and I’m pretty sure the girls do to.

Initially I had a bit of trouble finding a good apple green dress, but after some BM trial and error, we settled on the modern, fun line from Alfred Sung in appletini. I think these dresses are casual enough for another wear, although some may disagree. Originally, these were the 3 options the girls could choose from:

My first favorite

Dress numero dos

This one has pockets!

Source

My MOH was eager to get her dress ordered, so we went ahead and ordered her the third little number with pockets in addition to the flower girl dress today. I’ve since extended the dress options to any appletini cocktail dress that comes in peau de soie (a lightweight satin material, for those of us that are not material savvy). The dresses were also available in dupioni, but another bridesmaid and I thought they felt more like curtains and the color was a little different.

Hopefully the rest of the girls find a style that fits their own style and comfort best. I’m also having them pick out their own brown satin shoes. I really wanted to find something flexible for them, but added a nice pop of color. How did I do? What options would you give a faithful bridesmaid for attire?

  1. Found you via Weddingbee and I can’t wait to read more about you and your wedding planning!

    My girls will all be wearing the same dresses but I’m letting them choose their own black shoes for comfort. 🙂

  2. […] For example, we didn’t pay retail for my wedding dress, engagement ring, flower girl dress, bridesmaids dresses and the list goes on. That doesn’t mean we didn’t get them brand new; I just found ways […]

Leave a Reply

