Bo and Christa

Lost in the mail

In Uncategorized on March 15, 2010 at 10:44 pm

I heard an interesting stat while sending application packets to internships last February: 1 in 20 pieces of mail is lost.

Mind you, I’m just repeating something a classmate said a Postal Service employee told her after one of her packets was lost. 😦  I guess that’s why you have insurance and delivery confirmation.  But really, at that rate, we should all expect to have something lost!

Source

In fact, now that I think about it, the check my fiance sent for my engagement ring also got lost in the mail last year (we were dealing long distance, obviously). Of course, he went through the hassle of cancelling the original check and resending…but our diamond broker received the first check a month later.

If you think about it, I may send out around 600 or so wedding invites: that means up to 30 recipients may not get his or her invite. Now, I would probably be okay with this if I could select whose invitation would get lost (jk, kind of) but it is a little unnerving in that perspective.

No bashing the USPS by any means. I know those guys work long and hard to get us what we need, but sometimes reality is scary.

Any horror stories out there about a lost envelope or package?

Leave a Reply

