Bo and Christa

Finding the perfect dress

In Uncategorized on March 14, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Finding a wedding dress was easy, almost disappointingly easy. I mean, obviously I’m grateful I didn’t have to stress about it for a long time, but at first I thought I missed out on something. In October, I stopped in at a bridal shop right down the street from my place in St. Louis because they were having a sample sale. I was a sample sale virgin, so I didn’t really know what I was getting into. Needless to say, I found nothing on the sample side (boo), but the shop carried a line I fell in love with–Essense of Australia. My daughter, friend Kaile and intern friend (and bride-to-be) Whitney came along to help with photos and fitting. The shop consultant was amazing. Based on my responses to the initial dresses, she pulled the perfect gown for me. Essense has the most gorgeous dresses, and this *one* was sooooo comfortable. I could have slept in it.  Both ladies thought it could be the winner. I also agreed it was a tough contender but wasn’t willing to give up my big dress shopping experience. So, I took a trip to Omaha to see of my other girlfriends and bridesmaids and try again.

It seems like brides always find love in something they weren’t looking for. I had a list of several dresses I wanted to try and the shop didn’t have many of them. The first dress I tried on–BAM! It was stellar. But did it beat the St. Louis dress? There were a couple obstacles. I tried on the St. Lou Essense dress in champagne and fell in love with the richness of the color. In fact, I arranged my wedding colors around it. The closest color in this Nebraska-found dress was light gold, and I wasn’t so sure about it after falling in love with the champagne. That, and I just wasn’t digging the taffeta as much as the satin (comfort, comfort, comfort). It was just one of those things where, once I tried it, I was having trouble going back.

On the flip side, this newly discovered dress was a little less expensive, and it’s always nice to save a few bucks here and there when you can. I left torn. So I price shopped and endlessly Google searched the model numbers for other bride photos. I ended up accidentally finding the Essense dress in the exact size and color I needed on Craigslist. It was new and the girl was selling it for about 30% off the retail price. Long story short, I went for it. I was a little disappointed I didn’t get to go shopping with my mom and all of the wedding party, but I got over it. There was only one shop in South Dakota that carried my dress anyway, and time off over the holidays was against my side. It was unlikely that I would have gotten everyone together. So it must have been fate. Hopefully my mom wasn’t too disappointed.

Although I can’t show you the winner, I will show you the dress that lost the battle. Maggie Sottero’s Coco:

It’s really a very flattering dress. I just couldn’t get the Essense off the mind.  Especially after trying them both on for MOH Katie and attendant Lacey when I  stopped see them in South Dakota before the holidays. The Maggie at the SoDak shop was probably twice my size and gave me a very different impression of the dress. I was swimming in the extra material and it wasn’t nearly as flattering the second time around.

Thank  you to the lovely ladies that helped me out on the Nebraska dresscapade–  BMs Kayla and Christine and fellow dietetics grads/fab friends Megan and Tracey. You guys rocked, and I’m super bummed we  didn’t  get a group photo!

  1. […] realized how much my frugality has come to fruition. For example, we didn’t pay retail for my wedding dress, engagement ring, flower girl dress, bridesmaids dresses and the list goes on. That doesn’t […]

  2. […] my mom asked if she should bring my *wedding gown* to me for our little ceremony coming up, my response was […]

Leave a Reply

